Almost a week and a half ago, I challenged myself (as well as our readers) to CREATE and SHARE.  I gave myself a week, but as life goes, I found I needed more time.  So, here is my creation.  It’s the first drawing I’ve done in quite a few years…so, please…be gracious :).

I found that while I was creating this drawing, it took me some time to get a groove going.  But even so, the skill set that was there at one time wasn’t as refined as it used to be.  That’s true of anything we do.  It doesn’t mean that you won’t get back to that level of ability or even surpass it with a little time and continued effort.  Don’t give up!

Hmmmm….”Don’t Give Up.”  Sometimes, I can feel that way about my relationship with God.  Not to say that our relationships are a skill set.  But, there are times I’ve just let go of this tenacity, this passion for God and the things He does.  It’s never been done on purpose, but the fact is that it happened.  And I get back to this place where I see how far I’ve gotten from where I knew I was before: I have to tell myself, “Don’t give up.”

Sometimes it can be overwhelming to think where you used to be, the things you used to do – whether it is good or bad – and you can see how far you’ve come.  I know for me, I know where I used to be without Jesus.  I was very prideful, helplessly lost, and hurting (although I always tried not to let that show because I was…well, prideful!)

I also know where I was in my relationship with God the first few years I was saved.  There was a fire in my heart, a zeal that couldn’t be stopped.  T.V. didn’t captivate me anymore, but my Bible did.  I couldn’t put it down!  I couldn’t stop singing and worshipping throughout my day.  God’s goodness was ALL I could think about.  I’m ashamed to say that now, I look at my life and that area isn’t the same.

Well, I see it.  I recognize it.  I’m changing it.  I had put my focus on other things and let them begin to consume my life.  Am I saying TV is bad? No.  I’ve just let that replace God – my focal point and compass in my life.  Now, please understand that I am also NOT saying that we should be so heavenly minded that we’re no earthly good.  Jesus wasn’t even that way during His time here on earth.  He loved and related to all people on all levels, as should we. 

As I’m writing these things, I think of two scriptures.  The first one is when Jesus tells us not to lose our first love.  (Rev. 2:4-5).  This early church He’s speaking to did AMAZING things in the name of the Lord and stood for righteousness – it’s what they were KNOWN for.  But, then Jesus tells them that they lost their first love, their passion for Him.  They never stopped doing the works.  Let me word it this way…they didn’t stop their church programs.  They continued to reach their community, reach their church members, and probably started new programs and outreaches.  BUT.  They lost the reason they were doing those things in the first place.  They lost their exhuberent passion for God, for His presence.  At that point…the works lose their significance. 

It’s the same when you get married.  You do these special, sweet things for one another when you get married because this love, this passion for that person propelled you to do those things.  Then, your ten year anniversary comes around and you do something special for one another.  But is the fact that it’s ten years propelling you to do something?  Is it an obligation?  OR, is your passion, your love for your spouse drawing you to do something special for them?  If it’s out of obligation, the gesture has less meaning.  I think we can all agree on that.  And that is what Jesus tells us.  If the PASSION for Him isn’t in what we do and it’s an obligation, we might as well pack up and go home. 

The second thing that comes to mind is when Paul says in Philippians 3:13-14 that he is forgetting those things which are behind…and he presses toward the goal.  Don’t let your past successes or failures be your hang up.  Your past failures can’t keep you down if you won’t let it.  Instead, use them as motivation to move forward and know that God isn’t holding them over you.  Don’t let your past success be your excuse to keep looking behind you and think that your best days are still there – behind you.  Today is a new day just waiting for you to achieve your next success! 

LIVE UNASHAMED.  LIVE PASSIONATELY.  LIVE FREE.  LIVE.

P.S. please enjoy 🙂